Thread: Starting an intercity shuttle business

Default Starting an intercity shuttle business

Hi everyone. I'm in the process of creating a startup and we will be providing bus shuttle service (on a fixed schedule) in between two cities about 111 miles apart. I'm pretty good when it comes to the process of starting a business -- it's new to me, but I'm learning and I'm also attracting a lot of interest already in the local entrepreneurial community.

However, I'm completely new to the limo/charter/tour/bus industry so it's the operations angle that has me nervous. I have a million questions but I'll stick to just a few at first.

1.) Hiring a cofounder or general manager: were any of you new to the limo business when you started your company? Did you choose to hire someone to do the day to day or to go into business with someone who had more of a background? If so, any ideas on how I begin the search?

2.) Types of buses. I was originally looking at a Krystal F550 but I hear its ride quality stinks. Any thoughts? What about Grech buses?

3.) Drivers. I know there are all sorts of regs surrounding drivers. Have any of you gone through a driver staffing company -- one that handles all the nitty gritty and the audits?

Before it comes up, yes, I'm trying to outsource a lot of stuff here. That might rub some the wrong way and I completely understand -- I can get into the details of how I got to this point later (a kernel of an idea took a life of its own/it solves a huge transportation problem in our area and I had a unique solution) but that's not the gist of the post. I'm still in the go/no-go decision process for the business and the main drawback is I'm the primary caretaker of my kids and absolutely cannot run this business on my own, and my lack of transportation experience is another glaring hole. If I don't get a manager or a cofounder, this probably will be a no-go. But in the meantime, I am trying to learn as much as I can and this is one of my first steps.