Thread: Becoming a sedan owner-operator

Default Becoming a sedan owner-operator

Hi Everyone-

I am currently a bus driver in the Kansas City area and am wanting to become a chauffeur. I have no interest in trying to start a limousine company as I'm mainly only interested in sedan work but would like to have some responsibility and control over my vehicle. Also, having been a supervisor, I know what a pain in the butt it is to manage drivers!

From some of the other threads on here, I decided it would probably be a better idea to work as an employee first and get a good idea of how the business works before starting out on my own but haven't had any luck even getting an acknowledgement from anywhere I've applied. I have a CDL-B w/ P endorsement and a perfect driving record and credit/background check. I think maybe employers are blowing me off because I have a college degree? Is age a factor? I'm 30 but it sounds like everyone likes to hire retired police officers.

Anyway, since I haven't had any luck with the employment route, I've decided I need to just buy a car and start up a company myself. Does anyone know of any companies in the KC area that do owner-operator arrangements and are looking for new people? I'd hate to try to do it completely on my own as I'd have to do dispatch and sales at the same time as driving- doesn't seem like that would work out too well.

Thanks in advance for any advice/suggestions.

-Mark Graham

You might check at the airport and see what companys service that area. Call and set up a time to go and talk to those companys about working for them. Some might not want to train you to become a company they will compete with for bookings . I would say work in the job field for a year or so to get a chance to see the job from top to bottom before starting out on your own. Good Luck