Thread: Greater New Orleans Independent Livery Association

Members,
    Our next meeting will be on Thursday March 20, 2003 at 6 p.m. There will be two guest speakers so please be on time!

Thanks to all who attended the meeting! I hope everyone was able to take something positve from the meeting and met someone who may help them out in the future.

Here is what the New Orlenes Taxi drivers are complaining about:
    Who is the new Limo Franchise he refers to?

Unfair competition is squeezing taxicab drivers
    Saturday March 22, 2003

I am a 20-year cab driver, with no retirement in sight, and I must comment on the recent humbug on the airport taxi-limousine issue.

Here's a hypothetical situation:

I come into the airport with three buddies, or my wife and two kids, and I have a chance to take a cab for $48 or a stretch limo for $55. What would I do?

I'll bet you I would take the limo.

This is what the humbug is about!

Here you have a situation where big political money is talking loudly, and poor old cab driver money is trying to fight back by taking up a collection for a dollar or two a head. We can't win!

The new limo franchise that works the airport is a direct threat to our livelihood. It threatens our business as professional drivers and proven operators.

Oh yeah, I forgot to tell you that the limo people have a booth inside the airport advertising their prices. The taxi industry does not.

And I don't want to hear how the limo drivers wish they could get a raise.

Give me a break!

Hey pal, our raises have to be approved by the New Orleans City Council, and they are slow as dirt.

Gas prices are eating us alive, and we absolutely need a surcharge plus the meter to keep operating in the black.

H.T. "Ted Taxi" Ellison

Kenner
    nola.com

Steve Walker
    Azusa, CA
    steve@capriceshop.com
    http://www.capriceshop.com
    Steve Walker ppvsteve@gmail.com